Awards & More

Issue Date: 
November 21, 2011

Jonas T. JohnsonJonas T. Johnson

Jonas T. Johnson, the Dr. Eugene N. Myers Professor and Chairman of Otolaryngology in the Pitt School of Medicine, is the recipient of the 2011 Dr. Rodman E. Sheen and Thomas G. Sheen Award. The $25,000 award, established in 1968, is granted annually to a doctor or doctors to advance the study and science of medicine and to reward those who have made outstanding achievements in the medical profession. The award will be presented by the Bank of America on Dec. 3 during the annual convention of the New Jersey Chapter of the American College of Surgeons in Iselin, N.J.

Steven LittleSteven Little

Steven R. Little, assistant professor of biochemical engineering in Pitt’s Swanson School of Engineering, received the 2012 Young Investigator Award from the Society for Biomaterials. The award annually recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding achievements in the field of biomaterials research within 10 years of achieving his or her terminal degree or formal training. Little accepted the award at the society’s 2012 Fall Symposium in New Orleans in early October.

Ketki Raina, assistant professor in the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences’ Department of Occupational Therapy, received the 2011 Academic Educator Award from the Pennsylvania Occupational Therapy Association. Recognized for her excellence in innovations in education, Raina is known for her clinical expertise and research in rehabilitation related to cardiac care and fatigue.