Awards & More

Issue Date: 
March 30, 2015

Denise Chisholm

Denise Chisholm, an associate professor and vice chair, Department of Occupational Therapy, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, was elected to the Board of Directors of the American Occupational Therapy Association. Her term begins on July 1 and concludes in June 2018.


David A. Harris

David A. Harris, Distinguished Faculty Scholar and professor of law in the University of Pittsburgh’s School of Law, was awarded a 2014-15 Jefferson Award for Public Service. Named for U.S. President Thomas Jefferson, the honor recognizes individuals for their achievements and contributions through public and community service. A leading authority on issues related to racial profiling, Harris writes and teaches at Pitt about police behavior and regulation, law enforcement, and national security issues and the law.


Jenny Johnson

Jenny Johnson, a lecturer in the University of Pittsburgh’s Department of English, has been awarded the 2015 Whiting Award for poetry from the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation. The honor is given annually to 10 writers in the categories of drama, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry; Johnson was one of only four poetry winners in 2015. Established in 1985, the award carries a cash prize of $50,000. Johnson teaches in Pitt’s writing program and serves as a faculty consultant in the University’s Writing Center.