Awards & More

Issue Date: 
February 15, 2016

John Brigham

John Brigham, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering in Pitt’s Swanson School of Engineering, was selected as the 2015 Professor of the Year by the Pittsburgh Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). The award will be presented during the organization’s E-Week Awards Banquet on February 20. 

Nancy Condee

Nancy Condee received the 2015 AATSEEL Award for Distinguished Service from the American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages (AATSEEL). Condee is a professor and the director of graduate studies in the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures, the Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences. She is also director of the Global Studies Center in the University Center for International Studies.

Steven R. Little

The Swanson School of Engineering’s Steven R. Little and Xinyan Tracy Cui have been elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering’s (AIMBE) College of Fellows. Little is the William Kepler Whiteford Professor and Chair, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering. Xinyan Tracy Cui is the William Kepler Whiteford Professor of Bioengineering, Department of Bioengineering. The formal induction ceremony will be held during AIMBE’s 25th Annual Meeting on April 4 in Washington, D.C.

Nicholas RescherThe Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities will present the Helmholtz Medal, its highest scholarly award, to Nicholas Rescher during a ceremony in Berlin on June 11. Rescher is a Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Philosophy, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, and cochair of Pitt’s Center for Philosophy of Science. The award is given every other year to a scientist or scholar of internationally recognized standing. Four of the last 12 awardees have been Nobel Prize winners in the natural sciences.