Issue Date: 
October 2, 2006

 Newly inducted Black Action Society (BAS) steering committee members gather with outgoing steering committee members and guest speaker Jeff “Cousin Jeff” Johnson following BAS’s “Indaba” ceremony Sept. 15. This annual ceremony marks the official beginning of BAS’s calendar year and introduces new members to the organization’s mission, history, and vision for the year. BAS held a joint cookout with the National Pan Hellenic Council Sept. 16 to promote fellowship among minority students.


Pictured, from left: BAS adviser Danielle Colbert-Lewis; Adaobi Ezedinma, academic affairs vice chair; Carmen Berkley, political action vice chair; Kyle Hill, Black Active Students Intercollegiate Struggle (BASICS) vice chair; Mennie Eldridge, public relations chair; Martens Roc, outgoing community outreach chair; Sheila Isong, executive assistant; Yannick Skerritt, public relations vice chair; Mario Dones, president; Natalie Lilavois, outgoing executive secretary; Jason Bell, executive secretary; guest speaker Jeff Johnson; Adolph Sims, outgoing financial secretary; Jennifer Blemur, membership chair; Latesha Watson, vice president; Derrick Cephas, political action chair; Joy Coleman, financial secretary; Cameo Rowe (partially visible), assistant editor of BAS’s BlackLine; Sharae J. Graham, academic affairs chair; Glynnis Rutland, community outreach chair; Mindy Skelly, fundraising chair; Brianna Smith, programming vice chair; and Stephanie Lilavois, outgoing BlackLine editor-in-chief.