New and Returning Board Members Welcomed

Issue Date: 
July 11, 2016

During its June 24 annual meeting, Pitt’s Board of Trustees welcomed three new members: Edward J. Grefenstette, president and chief investment officer of The Dietrich Foundation; retired Lieutenant General Patricia D. Horoho, former Surgeon General of the U.S. Army and 2012 Pitt Commencement speaker; and longtime Pitt Alumni Association officer S. Jeffrey Kondis, as recommended by the board’s Governance and Nominating Committee.

Eva Tansky BlumThe board also re-elected Eva Tansky Blum as board chair and approved the Governance and Nominating Committee’s recommendation to re-elect eight other members to Pitt’s Board of Trustees. They include John A. Barbour, executive chair of Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC; Douglas M. Browning, executive vice president, Sandler & Travis Trade Advisory Services, Inc.; David C. Chavern, president and chief executive officer of the Newspaper Association of America; Brian Generalovich, a dentist in private practice; Marlee S. Myers, partner at Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP; John H. Pelusi Jr., executive managing director of HFF; Robert P. Randall, president of RAND Group, Inc.; and Jack D. Smith, chair, Department of Orthopedics, Excela Health System.

Two board members were chosen to serve on the University of Pittsburgh Trust Board: Michael A. Bryson, retired executive vice president of The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation, and Robert M. Hernandez, the retired vice chair and chief financial officer for USX Corp.

Mark A. Nordenberg, chancellor emeritus at Pitt, was re-elected as a University director to the UPMC Board of Directors, and John J. Verbanac, chief executive officer of Summa Development, LLC, was elected to that board as well.