Issue Date: 
February 2, 2009

 Drue Heinz Award Winner


Anthony Varallo won the 2008 Drue Heinz Literature Prize for his short fiction collection Out Loud (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2008). The prize is one of the nation’s most prestigious awards for books of short fiction and includes a cash award of $15,000. Pictured, from left, are Varallo; Scott Turow, an award-winning author and final judge for the 2008 Drue Heinz competition; award-winning novelist and Pitt English professor Chuck Kinder, director of the Pitt Writing Program; and Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg. The event was held Oct. 15 in the Frick Fine Arts Auditorium.

Dental School's Center for Patients with Special Needs


Pitt’s School of Dental Medicine held a dedication ceremony for its new Center for Patients with Special Needs (CPSN) in September. Among the attendees were, from left, Pennsylvania state Senator Robert J. Mellow of Lackawanna County; CPSN Director Erik Scheifele; Liz Braun; School of Dental Medicine Dean Thomas W. Braun; Abby Sniderman Milstein, one of the center’s donors; Pitt Provost James V. Maher; and Merlene Young, who is Milstein’s aunt. Milstein’s donation to the center was in honor of her father, the late Marvin Sniderman, who dedicated much of his career to dentistry for special needs patients.