Pitt’s Phi Beta Kappa Chapter Inducts 98 Into 2011 Class

Issue Date: 
May 1, 2011

The University of Pittsburgh chapter of Phi Beta Kappa inducted 98 Pitt students into its 2011 class during an April 30 initiation ceremony in the Teplitz Memorial Courtroom of the Barco Law Building.

Founded in 1776 at the college of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa is America’s oldest college honor society. Election to Phi Beta Kappa is considered by many to be the most prestigious honor of academic excellence that can be conferred upon students majoring in one of the liberal arts and sciences. Among the organization’s past inductees are 17 U.S. Presidents, 38 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, and 136 Nobel Laureates.

Local chapters work within the organization’s national guidelines to establish their own criteria for election to the society. At Pitt, eligibility requirements include, among others, proficiency in a foreign language as well as completion of a demanding, broadly distributed program of course work spanning the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.

Completing a well-distributed program of course work is more important than a 4.0 grade point average. Grade point average requirements range from 3.5 to 3.9, with the lower criterion applying to students who have earned at least 90 liberal arts credits at Pitt and the higher criterion applying to those who have earned 60 liberal arts credits at Pitt.

Pitt seniors graduating in 2011 who were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa in 2010, when they were juniors, are Philip Carullo, He Chang, Elizabeth Hocking, Rebecca A. Kerner, Andrea Kostura, Gabrielle Langmann, Grace Lindsay, Sarai Martinez-Suazo, Molly McLaren, Sumir Pandit, Natalie Reizine, Cory Rodgers, and Juliette Yedimenko.

Pitt’s Phi Beta Kappa Class of 2011 inductees are:

Mikaela Alger

Krutika Amin

Elizabeth Anger

Amanda Aninwene

Benjamin Armon

Jaclyn Bankert

Utsav Bansal

Allyson Barnett

Sonya Bohaczuk

Hannah Bonville

Elizabeth Calabrese

Lauren Campbell

Abigail Cartus

Laura Caton

Laura Cifrese

Christine Clark

Kathleen Costello

Angela Curcio

Scott Curran

Michael Daniel

Georgina DeCesare

Leslie Denlinger

Andrew Dilla

Samantha Evanoff

Rachel Frank*

Timothy Gallagher

Allison Garda*

Sultan Ghuman

Elizabeth Gilje

Laura Hagan

Noah Haibach*

Laura Hatz

Kenneth Hobbs

Charles Horowitz

Karen Jakubowski

Jonathan Janiczek

Stacy Jones*

Sagar Kamprath

James Kaus

Jennifer Klunk*

Gerald Kosoff*

Samuel Kramer

Stephanie Krowka

Raaka Kumbhakar*

Michelle Larzelere

Katherine Lasky

Cory Linfield

Margaret Lott

Hei Ma

Waqas Malick*

Nana Marfo

Courtney Matisko

Maddalena McDonnell

Clifton McKee

Taylor McKelvie

Meghan McLaughlin

Casey McRoy

Ashley Miller*

Jeffrey Moulton

Nicholas Naro*

Erin Nichols

Anna Nwokelo*

Elizabeth O’Neill

Kristen Painter

Nathaniel Pancoast

Eric Peterson

Irene Pien

Sheila Pierson

Sean Piper*

Lindsay Plavchak

Justina Pope

Victor Pope

Niveditha Prabakaran

Jonathan Rubin*

Alexa Sabreda

Sarah Sandrian

Rachel Saunders

Jeanette Schroeder

Andrew Sekhon

Gregory Sencak*

Yeohan Song

Anna Statkiewicz*

Ashley Sterchele

Lauren Swanson

Allyson Tessin

Rebecca Theophanous

Samantha Tieszen

Miranda Velikoff

Kora Vidnovic

Ketelyn Walzer

Ying Wang

Cody Weiss

Gavin White

Louisse Wolgat

Kathryn Wright

Jennifer Young

Lauren Zammerilla

Audra Zimmer

(*Pitt juniors)